At the crossroads between fine arts and botany, my research seeks to question our relationship to the living in a sensitive way. With a resolutely exploratory dimension, my projects involve paths that give shape to kind of poetical biology. I’m searching for a high level of attention, and in order to do this, drawing and photography become a necessity; they are my main tools to thoroughly scrutinize reality.

Observation plays a key role in my process, not only from a scientific point of view, but also in terms of temporality and the questions of perception that it involves; it leads to a humble attitude in terms of our relationship to the world. It is an exercise in curiosity that attempts to gradually go through the experience of being among other living beings—not only seeing them, but looking at them, considering them, sparking new or unexpected encounters.

My pictures focus on detailing the architecture of the forms they describe, with an interest in collection, enumeration and inventory. Articulating the notions of presentation and representation, fragmentary and complementary approaches work off of each other, calling into question the very possibility of having an overall view as well as seemingly obvious perception. Thus, how is one to make things visible? By which mechanisms can images become a form of mediation, pointing out what is beyond our perception?

My relationship to reality is evolving by constantly sending me back and forth between naked-eye vision and intense and repeated magnification. There is a cascade effect in which one discovery leads to another; it is a succession of visual clues at different scales that telescope with each other. By developing the acuteness of the gaze, optical tools like the microscope allow me to extend the experience of reality.

Night explorations are also another way to experience places in a more nuanced, sensitive way; they allow us to apprehend the places that my investigations lead me to explore differently, distinguishing the manner in which night reshapes those places. Nighttime forms and deforms, expanding the scope of possibilities. The techniques of long-exposure photography and video thereby allow me to unfold silent spaces, which are orchestrated through deliberate slowness.

All works © 2020 Camille Charnay, 

all rights reserved

All works © 2020 Camille Charnay, 

all rights reserved

          À la rencontre des arts plastiques et de la botanique, mes recherches tentent d'interroger de façon sensible nos relations au vivant. Avec une dimension résolument exploratoire, mes projets sont autant de pistes qui dessinent une forme de biologie poétique. Je recherche une qualité d’attention, et pour ce faire, le dessin et la photographie s'imposent comme une nécessité ; ils constituent mes deux instruments principaux pour scruter le réel, méticuleusement.

L’observation a ainsi une place centrale, non seulement d’un point de vue scientifique, mais aussi pour la temporalité et les questions de perception qu’elle engage, devenant une attitude humble qui nous parle de notre relation au monde. C’est un exercice de la curiosité qui tente de faire l’expérience, progressivement, du côtoiement du vivant ; non pas seulement voir, mais regarder, considérer, opérer des rencontres.

Mes images s’attachent à détailler l’architecture des formes qu’elles décrivent, avec un intérêt pour la collection, l’énumération et l’inventaire. Articulant présentation et représentation, des approches fragmentaires et complémentaires dialoguent, remettant en question la possibilité d’une vision d’ensemble et l’évidence d’une perception du réel. Comment alors donner à voir ? Par quels mécanismes les images peuvent-elles devenir une médiation, en pointant du doigt ce qui nous échappe ?

Mon rapport au réel se construit dans des allers-retours constants entre vision à l’œil nu et grossissement démultiplié. Continuellement alimenté par des découvertes entraînées en cascade, c’est un enchaînement d’indices visuels à différentes échelles qui se télescopent. En développant l’acuité du regard, des outils optiques comme le microscope me permettent ainsi d’étendre l’expérience de la réalité.​

L’expérience nocturne représente aussi une autre lecture sensible, elle est un moyen d’appréhender différemment les lieux que mes investigations m’amènent à explorer, en distinguant la façon dont la nuit reconfigure l’espace, forme et déforme en redessinant les possibles. Les techniques de la pause longue ou de la vidéo me permettent alors de déployer des espaces silencieux, orchestrés dans une lenteur délibérée.